The website of freelance writer and published author Kaitlin Scirri


1 Comment

Book Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Into the WaterI spent last summer trying to find the next The Girl on the Train only to be disappointed every time. Sure, there were thrillers and many were quite good, but none of them kept me on the edge of my seat the way that book had. None of them kept me furiously flipping page after page, thinking I had figured out “whodunit” only to be convinced on the next page that it must have been someone else. I was beginning to think that a thriller like that might be a one-time thing. But then Ms. Hawkins wrote another book…
Keep Reading!


2 Comments

Coming Full Circle

img_5083.jpgExciting news everyone! I did it! I got my college degree!

My back to school journey ended on May 13th as I walked across the stage, black and orange tassel dangling off my square cap with a gold honors cord around my neck, to shake the University President’s hand and receive my scroll (the real diploma comes in the mail later!). When I decided to go back to school three years ago, I was nervous to say the least. I was self-conscious about being a thirty-two year old college freshman. It certainly didn’t help that at my freshman orientation I was asked if I was a parent or a student. I felt ancient and out of place, and I almost turned around and left right then. What was I doing there anyway? I felt so late to the game. But I would come to believe over the next three years that it is better to be late to the game than to not show up at all.

Keep Reading!


1 Comment

Book Review: Erasable by Linda Yiannakis

ErasableI was excited to read this new book from author Linda Yiannakis. As a fan of middle grade reads as well as magical realism, I was intrigued by the synopsis. Nine year old Ellie, short for Eleanor, has it tough. Well, at least she thinks she does. She has to spend her summer vacation in summer school, with her least favorite teacher, Mr. Pinchpenny, as well as the class bully, and to top it all off, her little brother is driving her crazy at home! Things just couldn’t get worse for poor Ellie. But what if she found a way, a mysterious, magical sort of way, to make things better?

Keep Reading!


Leave a comment

New Review and Year End Wrap Up

Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was marketed as a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. Unfortunately, it turned out to be just the opposite. This book, while a mystery, is not a thriller. Comparing a book to the likes of The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl sets up certain expectations, such as a hook, something to grab your attention right away and make the book unputdownable. Unfortunately, this book lacked that hook.
Keep on Reading!


2 Comments

My Christmas Dream Come True!

christmastime-in-new-york-cityYears and years ago I came across a picture book called Christmastime in New York City by Roxie Munro. I fell in love with this book! It is strictly a picture book – no story included. It is a beautiful showcase of the artist’s skills and contains picture after picture of New York City all decorated for Christmas.

I loved this book so much because I had never been to New York City at Christmastime and I had always imagined it would be magical. Though to be fair, I think just about everywhere becomes magical at Christmastime! For me, flipping through this book was the next best thing to being there in person.

Last year, my sweet hubby helped me check Christmas in New York City off my bucket list by taking me to Manhattan in mid-December. It was a wonderful day and I was able to visit many of the sites in the book.
Keep on Reading!


4 Comments

Review: My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

my-not-so-perfect-life

Cover Art is copyright of Random House Publishing Group

I was thrilled to learn that Sophie Kinsella has a new book coming out this winter, and even more thrilled when I received an advanced copy from Random House through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review! I have been a fan of Ms. Kinsella’s work since Confessions of a Shopaholic. I have read all of her Shopaholic series and all of her stand-alone novels as well. My Not So Perfect Life is a typical Kinsella book, complete with a lovably flawed main character who has a big problem that can only be solved through hilarious schemes and hijinks!

Katie Brenner, or Cat, or Katie…well, frankly, she can’t quite decide…has long dreamed of moving from England’s countryside to a more exciting and glamorous life in London. What she learns upon moving to the big city, however, is that life is a lot less sparkly and a lot more expensive than it looks in the pictures and movies. Unless of course you visit Katie/ Cat’s Instagram account. If you were judging based solely on that, you’d think she had the perfect life in London.
Keep on Reading!


Leave a comment

Review: Defenders of Justice #1: Fatal Frost by Nancy Mehl

fatal-frostI received a free copy of the book for today’s review from Bethany House Publishers. Fatal Frost is the first book in the Defenders of Justice series by Nancy Mehl. I was excited to receive this copy as the synopsis from the publisher sounded intriguing and unique for a Christian fiction novel.

First of all, this was an exciting read! It was unlike any other Christian fiction I’ve read. Too often, Christian fiction “plays it safe” rather than placing characters in contemporary, conflicting, and exciting situations. I also find that Christian fiction often goes overboard on the Christian theme, with the characters praying or quoting the Bible on every other page. This book, however, kept the Christian theme subtly woven throughout the book. It wasn’t too much or too little.
Keep on Reading!


1 Comment

Review: Nightmares! By Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

nightmaresThis book has been on my radar for some time now, but alas, school books have dominated my reading list for the last couple of years. I thought October would be the perfect month to finally dive into this spooky story for young readers. What better night to stay up late finishing it than Halloween?!

Nightmares! didn’t disappoint! I know sometimes there is a lot of hype around a book because it has a celebrity author, but in this case, this book really is worth the read. I have personally enjoyed Jason Segel’s movies, and yes, I did initially hear about this book during an interview he did on a talk show, but that’s not why I like it. It really is a good story with a sound moral lesson for kids. Keep on Reading!


2 Comments

Bookish Problems!

harry-potter

In today’s post, I would like to share with you my top bookish problems. These are problems that likely only other book lovers or roommates of book lovers will understand. And really, I don’t think they are problems so much as cute little quirks of mine. Of course, my hubby may disagree. 😉 Keep on Reading!


2 Comments

New Book Smell

book-heart2

Let me start this post by assuring you that I am not a doctor and not qualified to give any kind of medical or lifestyle advice. What I am about to share with you are simply a few ways in which I believe books play a positive and healthy role in my life in the hopes that they can do the same in yours.

Keep on Reading!