Kait's Bookshelf

Book Reviews and Literary Services

New Review and Year End Wrap Up

Leave a comment

Review: The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was marketed as a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. Unfortunately, it turned out to be just the opposite. This book, while a mystery, is not a thriller. Comparing a book to the likes of The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl sets up certain expectations, such as a hook, something to grab your attention right away and make the book unputdownable. Unfortunately, this book lacked that hook.

It started slow…veerry slow. About one hundred pages in and I was losing interest, forcing myself to keep reading because it still hadn’t hooked me. A woman was missing and there were certain suspects and suspicious persons of interest but that was it. There was no hook or twist or even a psychological element to the plot. Fans of crime dramas may enjoy this book but if you’re looking for something that goes beyond the process of finding a missing person, something more than just a mystery but a real thriller that will keep you guessing and gasping, I’m afraid you’ll need to keep looking.

I think the publisher should market this book differently because, again, calling it a psychological thriller sets up certain expectations that unfortunately this book just didn’t meet for me.

My Review: 2 out of 5 stars

Now, in light of The Cutaway being less than what I had hoped for, I’d like to end my last post of 2016 with some books that I did enjoy this year, thriller and otherwise.

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin has become one of my favorite books! It’s a book about a man who owns a bookstore…what more do you need to know?! 😉

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel was a great read about a woman who is just trying to get it and keep it together. I found it humorous and entertaining, and it just released a few days ago, so give it a try if you’re looking for something light yet touching.

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George…again a book about a bookstore, what more do you need to know? Oh, except perhaps that this bookstore is on a boat and that the protagonist sails this boat/ bookstore on his journey to find his long lost love. Yes, this one is a keeper and the prose is so beautifully written that it flows like poetry!

A Tapestry of Secrets by Sarah Loudin Thomas is a contemporary Christian fiction novel that has a cross-generational story between mother and daughter and grandmother and granddaughter. It was beautifully written and is a great, relatable read.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena is the book you want to pick up if you’re looking for a psychological thriller! I read this in two days because I could not put it down. It is very fast-paced and filled with twists!

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella was a classic Kinsella novel filled with a lovably flawed character and her hilarious adventures. If you’re a Kinsella fan, you won’t want to miss this one, and if you’re not, you will be if you give this book a read.

Well, that’s my year-end wrap up for 2016! I would also like to add that I appreciate so much everyone who has liked, shared, and supported Kait’s Bookshelf over these past six months. I have many exciting things in store for 2017 which I can’t wait to share! Please continue to follow the blog and social media pages for new reviews and exciting news in 2017.

I wish everyone a safe and Happy New Year celebration!

-Kait

Advertisements

Author: kaitsbookshelf

After several years of being a cubicle commander, I realized that cubicle life is not for me. I went back to school and received my Bachelor of Arts in Writing so I could pursue a career in the field I am most passionate about. I love everything about books and created this blog to have a creative place to share my passion for books with others. I am a freelance writer, editor, book reviewer, and blogger. I am a member of the EFA and SCBWI. Thanks for visiting my website!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s