Kait's Bookshelf

The website of author Kaitlin Scirri


Leave a comment

Book Review: A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena

a-stranger-in-the-house.jpg

I read Shari Lapena’s debut thriller last year, The Couple Next Door. I loved it! After reading several books that promised to be the next Girl on the Train or Gone Girl but fell short, I had finally found a book that kept me turning the pages. I read it in just two days. It was original, full of twists, and impossible to put down. So you can imagine my excitement over her new book, A Stranger in the House, as well as my disappointment when it just didn’t live up to her first novel.
Keep Reading!


Leave a comment

Book Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Into the Water

I spent last summer trying to find the next The Girl on the Train only to be disappointed most times. The closest I found was The Couple Next Door, but even that didn’t keep me quite as hooked as The Girl on the Train had. Needless to say, I was beyond excited for Ms. Hawkins newest release, Into the Water. Overall, it was a good read, but I found I much preferred her debut novel over this one.
Keep Reading!


Leave a comment

Book Review: Defenders of Justice #1: Fatal Frost by Nancy Mehl

fatal-frostFatal Frost is the first book in the Defenders of Justice series by Nancy Mehl. I was excited to receive this copy as the synopsis from the publisher sounded intriguing and unique for a Christian fiction novel.

First of all, this was an exciting read! It was unlike any other Christian fiction I’ve read. Too often, Christian fiction “plays it safe” rather than placing characters in contemporary, conflicting, and exciting situations. I also find that Christian fiction often goes overboard on the Christian theme, with the characters praying or quoting the Bible on every other page. This book, however, kept the Christian theme subtly woven throughout the book. It wasn’t too much or too little.
Keep on Reading!


3 Comments

Book Review: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

the-couple-next-doorIf you thought The Girl on the Train kept you on your toes, wait til you meet The Couple Next Door!! THIS is the thriller I’ve been seeking all summer! I read this book in two days, and believe me, with my heavy school workload this semester, that says a lot about this book. I could not put it down. I read the first half of it in one sitting.

Anne and Marco are just a normal couple with a new baby girl on a nice street in a nice neighborhood. Everything about them screams stereotypical middle class family. Except not everything or everyone is always as they seem, are they? Keep on Reading!


2 Comments

Book Review: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

The Husband's SecretPrior to The Husband’s Secret, I had only read one book by Liane Moriarty, Big Little Lies. I enjoyed that book and found it to be a good mystery with a satisfactory ending. I loved how that book started with a shocking event and then backtracked to show the events leading up to that night. I was hoping for more of the same with The Husband’s Secret, but this story was written differently. It was a good story with a definite mysterious aspect to it but there were things in it that I felt weren’t really necessary and took away from the story. **Please note: if you have not read The Husband’s Secret yet, please come back to this once you have read it so as to avoid spoilers!** Keep on Reading!


Leave a comment

Book Review: The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen

The Perfect NeighborsMy interest in this book was piqued when I read a description of it that said fans of Wisteria Lane (the street from Desperate Housewives) would enjoy this book. Well, I loved Desperate Housewives, and even though it’s been off the air for a few years now, I still miss getting my weekly Wisteria Lane fix. See, Wisteria Lane was a street where all the neighbors knew each other and knew each other’s business. Or at least, they thought they knew each other and each other’s business. There was a lot of secret keeping on that street, and each new season revealed a new mystery. That being said, reading about the residents of Newport Cove was reminiscent of watching my Housewives but with less mystery. This was a fun, entertaining story but more like a story with a mysterious tone to it than an actual mystery. The characters were entertaining and real, and I found Kellie to be the most real and relatable character out of all of the ladies from Newport Cove. Keep on Reading!


Leave a comment

Book Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

watching edie

Cover art is copyright of Penguin Random House

I received an advanced copy of this book from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. I was very excited to receive a copy of this book as it was marketed as a psychological thriller, a suspenseful novel for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. I found both of those books to be very suspenseful with psychological twists and was thrilled for a new book to keep me on the edge of my seat. Unfortunately, that is not what I received with Watching Edie.

This book not only shifts points of view but also shifts periods in time. Chapters alternate between “After” and “Before” leaving the reader to wonder “after and before what?” While this created curiosity and did keep me reading, it did not create the suspense that I believe was intended. Keep on Reading!