Kait's Bookshelf

Book Reviews and Literary Services

Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

Leave a comment

watching edie

Cover art is copyright of Penguin Random House

I received an advanced copy of this book from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. I was very excited to receive a copy of this book as it was marketed as a psychological thriller, a suspenseful novel for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. I found both of those books to be very suspenseful with psychological twists and was thrilled for a new book to keep me on the edge of my seat. However, that is not what I received with Watching Edie.

This book not only shifts points of view but also shifts periods in time. Chapters alternate between “After” and “Before” leaving the reader to wonder “after and before what?” While this created curiosity and did keep me reading, it did not create the suspense that I believe was intended. While I was curious as to what the repeatedly referenced horrible thing that had happened in Edie’s and Heather’s pasts could be, I found myself reading not because I just had to know what had happened but because after investing in over half of the book, I felt I should keep reading just to find out. After 100 pages, I was in the dark about the mysterious event that surrounded Heather’s and Edie’s departures from Fremton. After 200 pages, I was still in the dark, and after 250, I was not only still in the dark but so close to the end of the book that I took on a “might as well finish” mentality.

This book is well written in that the characters are well developed and their lives are intriguing. However, it was not what I would consider to be a suspenseful or psychological read. I also felt that there really was no heroine, good guy, or victor at the end of this book. That may not be a big deal for some people, but when I’ve spent 300 pages getting to know two characters, I’d like to feel that at least one of them comes out victorious instead of just managing to survive.

What is most disappointing is that the reader is tricked into thinking there is a psychologically unstable character when in fact it is just a depressing story about a sad and lonely woman. If you like mysteries, you might enjoy this book, but if you’re looking for the next Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, you’ll have to keep looking. It is unfortunate that this book was marketed that way, because if I had gone into this reading without the expectation of that level of suspense and psychological twists, I might have felt differently about Watching Edie.

My review: 2 out of 5 stars

Advertisements

Author: kaitsbookshelf

After several years of being a cubicle commander, I realized that cubicle life is not for me. I went back to school and received my Bachelor of Arts in Writing so I could pursue a career in the field I am most passionate about. I love everything about books and created this blog to have a creative place to share my passion for books with others. I am a freelance writer, editor, book reviewer, and blogger. I am a member of the EFA and SCBWI. Thanks for visiting my website!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s