Kait's Bookshelf

Book Reviews and Literary Services

Review: Seascape by Benita J. Prins

Leave a comment

SeascapeThe only Christian fantasy that I have ever read is The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. Of course, it wasn’t until I was older that I was able to re-read them and really appreciate them for the Christian allegory that they are. It is obvious that Mr. Lewis, as well as Mr. Tolkien, have had a profound influence on Benita J. Prins’s new novel, Seascape. To me, it seemed like a mixture of the Narnia books, The Lord of the Rings books, and The Hunger Games books with an apparent Christian theme running through it. So, if you enjoy fantasy about epic quests and heroic protagonists finding the courage to fight for what they know is right, you will likely enjoy Seascape.

While I found this to be a good story, intriguing and easy to get caught up in, I also found it a little confusing toward the beginning. I think that was mostly due to getting used to the names and language which seemed like old Norse. In addition to adjusting to these unfamiliar names and terms, many characters’ names started with the letter “E” and I had difficulty at first trying to keep straight who was who. These were not typical “E” names that I hear often, like Edward or Elliott, but were Einur with his dragon, Efrix, who meet a man named Eigion. I think you can see how these names take a little getting used to.

The world that Prins created was definitely unique with dragons, sea fairies, and characters whose hair and beard were pale green, something we don’t see every day in our world. At the heart of this book is the story of Einur who will do anything to save his younger sister, Lody, from the Illyrië, who draw names to determine which child will be the next to be sacrificed (similar to drawing names for tribute in The Hunger Games). The Christian theme comes into play with Einur on his quest to protect Lody. I don’t want to elaborate on the story or what happens because I don’t want to give away any spoilers.

I will say that overall, I found this to be a unique, entertaining read and a great addition to the Christian fantasy genre. I think this book would be good for parents to read with their kids and might even be suited to a Sunday school or Christian classroom lesson. Fans of Narnia, Hunger Games, and Lord of the Rings should check this out for sure.

My Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Seascape  is available now at Amazon.com

Connect with Benita J. Prins on Twitter to stay up-to-date on Seascape and her other books.

One of my favorite passages from the book:

I am with you. I am your strength. It is my sign your armour carries. Fear not, Einur.

‘I’m only a fool of a peasant boy.’

Fool? Perhaps. But my fool.”  – Seascape

Author: kaitsbookshelf

A few years ago, I made the decision to go back to school, and at the age of thirty-five, I received my B.A. in Writing (better late than never!). I am now pursuing a career in the field I am most passionate about. I am a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. I am a freelance writer, a published author, a freelance editor, and a book reviewer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s